Cruising Route

HOME

Canal Boat Holidays
The Cheshire Ring.

Start From Anderton Marina

From Anderton Marina
Cruising days : 7
Cruising hours : 8 hours per day
Locks : 92

Start From Blackwater Meadow Marina

From Blackwater Meadow Marina
Cruising days : 14
Cruising hours : 8 hours
Locks : 138

Information

Moor at Castlefields to explore the city of Manchester, including Old Trafford, home of Manchester United F.C., the huge Arndale shopping centre and the Science & Industry Museum.

The trip will let you enjoy glorious scenery as the Pennine Range overlooks the canal and, if time allows, detour along the Peak Forest canal to its terminus.

Enjoy the stunning views from Marple and at Anderton pause to visit the fabulously restored boat lift which now operates throughout the cruising season to link the canal with the River Weaver.

Map

The Cheshire Ring Canal Boat Holidays Route

Useful Information

Rode Hall & gardens –a beautiful country house & gardens nr Rode Heath www.rodehall.co.uk

Moated Tudor Manor House near Congleton Website

Astbury Mere Country Park near Congleton Website

Macclesfield Silk musuem www.macclesfield.silk.museum

Gawsworth Hall nr Macclesfield – one of Cheshires most beautiful historic manor houses www.gawsworthhall.com

Lyme Park – a great estate near Poynton with lavishly decorated house and fine gardens www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lymepark

Anson Engine Museum near Poynton www.enginemuseum.org

Portland Basin Social & Industrial History Museum www.tameside.gov.uk

Manchester Museum www.museum.manchester.ac.uk

Manchester Chinese Arts centre Gallery & Workshop www.chinese-arts-centre.org

The Museum of Science and industry in Manchester www.mosi.org.uk Tel. 0161 832 2244

Museum dedicated to the Manchester regiment www.ashton-under-lyne.com/places/museum.htm

The Lowry Museum at Salford Quays Manchester www.thelowry.com

Imperial War Museum North- The Quays, Trafford Wharf Manchester www.iwm.org.uk/north

The Arndale Shopping centre Manchester www.manchesterarndale.com

The Trafford shopping Centre Manchester www.traffordcentre.co.uk

Manchester United Football Stadium www.manutd.com Tel. 0870 4421994

Dunham Massey Country Estate & Mansion near Little Bollington www.nationaltrust.org.uk/dunhammassey

Walton Hall & gardens & childrens Zoo nr Higher Walton- www.warrington.gov.uk/waltongardens

Anderton Boat Lift www.andertonboatlift.co.uk

Tourist information
Middlewich- www.aboutbritain.com/towns/middlewich.asp
www.discovercheshire.co.uk/Outandabout
Macclesfield www.aboutbritain.com/towns/macclesfield.asp
www.aboutbritain.com/towns/manchester.asp
www.visitmanchester.com
www.enjoyengland.com/manchester

 

Other Routes

© www.canalboatholiday.mobi - 2017 : Home page